None is too many : Canada and the Jews of Europe, 1933–1948
Book cover

None is too many : Canada and the Jews of Europe, 1933–1948

Library Item

Find or request this item
None is too many : Canada and the Jews of Europe, 1933–1948
Call No: 971.004 A14n 2012

Call Number971.004 A14n 2012
Dates[2012]; ©2012
Statement of ResponsibilityIrving Abella & Harold Troper.
Creators & ContributorsAbella, Irving M. (author)
Troper, Harold Martin (author)
Summary"One of the most significant studies of Canadian history ever written, None Is Too Many conclusively lays to rest the comfortable notion that Canada has always been an accepting and welcoming society. Detailing the country’s refusal to offer aid, let alone sanctuary, to Jews fleeing Nazi persecution between 1933 and 1948, it is an immensely bleak and discomfiting storyand one that was largely unknown before the book’s publication. Irving Abella and Harold Troper’s retelling of this episode is a harrowing read not easily forgotten: its power is such that, ‘a manuscript copy helped convince Ron Atkey, Minister of Employment and Immigration in Joe Clark’s government, to grant 50,000 “boat people” asylum in Canada in 1979, during the Southeast Asian refugee crisis’ (Robin Roger, The Literary Review of Canada). None Is Too Many will undoubtedly continue to serve as a potent reminder of the fragility of tolerance, even in a country where it is held as one of our highest values." Publisher
  1. Where they could not enter
  2. The line must be drawn somewhere
  3. Der Feter Yiuv ist bei uns
  4. The children who never came
  5. Ottawa or Bermuda? A refugee conference
  6. In the free and civilized world
  7. One wailing cry
  8. A pleasant voyage
  9. Conclusion
Physical Description xxiv, 340 pages, 8 unnumbered pages of plates : illustrations ; 23 cm
Carrier Typevolume
PublisherToronto : University of Toronto Press
  • Includes bibliographical references and index
  • National Jewish Book Award (Holocaust category), 1983; Canadian Historical Association Sir John A. Macdonald Prize, 1983
RecognitionGifted in 2017 by Shannon LaBelle & Kevin Forbes