Book cover

Countrymen

Library Item

Find or request this item
Countrymen
Call No: 948.9051 L71c

Call Number948.9051 L71c
Dates[2013]; ©2013
Statement of ResponsibilityBo Lidegaard ; translated from the Danish by Robert Maass.
Creators & ContributorsLidegaard, Bo (author)
Maass, Robert (translator)
Summary"Denmark, under German Occupation, but with its King and government intact, did something no other country in Western Europe even tried to do. Knowing that German command was coming in 1943 to round up their Jews (there were 7,000 of them) for deportation to the camps, they said no. The King, his ministers, and parliament were all in agreement—those 7,000 people were theirs, they were Danes who happened to be Jewish, and nobody was going to assist in their round-up and certain death. While the government used its limited but formidable powers to manoeuver and to impede matters in Berlin, the warning went out to the Jewish community that crisis was at hand. Over the next 14 days, assisted, helped, hidden, and protected by ordinary people who came together spontaneously to the aid of their countrymen who were suddenly refugees, an incredible 6,500 out of the 7,000 total escaped—smuggled on big boats, little boats, fishing boats, anything that floated—to Sweden... The refugees kept diaries, letters, family accounts which have now been brought together and form the basis of this riveting account. After a powerful historical introduction, the book follows the story on a day-by-day basis." —Publisher
Contents
  1. Sunday, September 26: The Last Day of the Past
  2. Monday, September 27: At Home
  3. Tuesday, September 28: The Message
  4. Wednesday, September 29: Departure
  5. Thursday, September 30: The Escape
  6. Friday, October 1: The Action
  7. Saturday, October 2: The Transfer
  8. Sunday, October 3: Ystad
  9. Monday, October 4: The Village of Ruds Vedby
  10. Tuesday, October 5: Going North
  11. Wednesday, October 6: Gilleleje
  12. Thursday, October 7: The Hope
  13. Friday, October 8: The Beach of Smidstrup
  14. Saturday, October 9: Realities
Physical Description x, 396 pages : illustrations, maps ; 25 cm
Carrier Typevolume
LanguageEnglish, Translated from the Danish by Robert Maass.
PublisherToronto : Signal, McClelland & Stewart
Notes
  • Cover title: Countrymen : the untold story of how Denmark's Jews escaped the Nazis, of the courage of their fellow Danes—and of the extraordinary role of the SS
  • Also published in Danish under the title: Landsmænd
  • Includes bibliographical references (pages 381–385) and index
RecognitionGifted in 2013 by Random House