Book cover

Where memory leads : my life

Library Item

Find or request this item
Where memory leads : my life
Call No: 940.5315 F91w v. 2

Call Number940.5315 F91w v. 2
Statement of ResponsibilitySaul Friedländer.
Creators & ContributorsFriedländer, Saul (author)
Friedländer, Saul (subject)
Summary"Forty years after his acclaimed, poignant first memoir, Friedländer returns with Where Memory Leads, bridging the gap between the ordeals of his childhood and his present-day towering reputation in the field of Holocaust studies. After abandoning his youthful conversion to Catholicism, he rediscovers his Jewish roots as a teenager and builds a new life in Israeli politics. Friedländer's initial loyalty to Israel turns into a lifelong fascination with Jewish life and history. He struggles to process the ubiquitous effects of European anti-Semitism while searching for a more measured approach to Zionism that surrounds him. Friedländer goes on to spend his adulthood shuttling between Israel, Europe, and the United States, armed with his talent for language and an expansive intellect. His prestige inevitably throws him up against other intellectual heavyweights. In his early years in Israel, he rubs shoulders with the architects of the fledgling state and brilliant minds such as Gershom Sholem, among others... this memoir led Friedländer to reflect on the wrenching events that drove him to devote sixteen years of his life to writing his Pulitzer Prize-winning masterpiece, The Years of Extermination: Nazi Germany and the Jews, 1939–1945." —Book jacket
ContentsPart I. Changing places
  1. Nirah
  2. Paris
  3. Sweden
  4. New horizons
  5. Geneva
  6. Turmoil
Part II. The unraveling of a dream
  1. The footsteps of the Messiah
  2. Hubris
  3. Expiation
  4. The Mount of the Blessing
Part III. Germany
  1. The inability to mourn
  2. Berlin
Part IV. America
  1. A sense of exile?
  2. Dilemmas
  3. The time that remains
Physical Description ix, 283 pages : 22 cm
Carrier Typevolume
PublisherNew York : Other Press
Notes"Volume Two of Saul Friedländer's autobiography. Volume One [When Memory Comes] was originally published in New York in 1979." —Title page verso
Location in CollectionNew Library Items